Sunday, July 24, 2011

Monitoring – JCmon

The JCmon is a native monitoring program, part of the startup and control framework, which can be used to:
1. Display a list of the processes
2. Enable, disable, and restart the specified processes
3. Shutdown a specified J2EE instance
4. Enable/disable debugging for a specified process
5. Dump stack trace
6. Display a list of the ports used by the J2EE Engine
7. Activate/deactivate debug sessions
8. Increment/decrement the trace level
To start the JCmon, execute the jcmon script file from the /usr/sap///j2ee/os_libsdirectory, where is the system ID of the cluster (for example, C11) and is the instance name of the J2EE instance (for example, JC00). The instance name consists of a prefix (JC or J) and the two-digit instance number afterwards. As parameter for the jcmon script file specify the SAP instance profile:
jcmon pf=/usr/sap//sys/profile/__.
jcmon pf=/usr/sap/C11/sys/profile/C11_JC00_testpc.
Enter command ‘20’ to display the main menu.
The JCmon main menu provides the following functions:
0: Exit
Returns back to the main menu.
1: Refresh list
Refreshes the process list and the menu.
2: Shutdown instance
Invokes the shutdown of the specified J2EE instance.
3: Enable process
Enables and starts a process, which is switched off. (Restart == no)
4: Disable Process
Stops a running process and switches off the restart flag.
5: Restart Process
Restarts the specified process.
6: Enable bootstrapping on restart
7: Disable bootstrapping on restart
8: Enable Debugging
Checks if the specified process is running in debug mode. If not and the process is configured for debugging, JControl will restart the process in debug mode.
9: Disable Debugging
If the process is running in debug mode, JControl will restart the process and switch off the debug mode.
10: Dump stack trace
The specified process gets an event to invoke the dump of the stack trace of the Java VM. The stack trace is stored in the stderr output file in the work directory.
11: Process list
Displays the status and additional information about all the processes.
12: Port list
Displays a list with detailed information about the ports used by the J2EE Engine.
13: Activate debug session
Activates the debug session for the specified process. To activate a debug session:
1. The process must be running in debug mode.
1. The process must be “Load Balance Restricted”.
14: Deactivate debug session
Deactivates the debug session. The process will be restarted or stopped – this depends on the process configuration.
15: Increment trace level
This increments the trace level for the developer trace file of the specified process (dev_)
16: Decrement trace level
This decrements the trace level for the developer trace file of the specified process (dev_)
17: Enable process restart
18: Disable process restart
98: Synchronize instance properties
99: Extended process list on/off
For more information, see:

1 comment:

Shruti Ramalingam said...

Thanks for the great information ,was looking for this information from long.Great blog SAP Basis Training in Chennai